Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Munchkin Zombies, the Grabby Guts card says "You have one extra Hand", but in the bottom right corner, it says "-1 Hand". Shouldn't it say "+1 Hand" in the corner?

share|improve this question
up vote 21 down vote accepted

It's a little counter-intuitive, but "-1 Hand" is actually correct. You aren't allowed to use more than 2 hands-worth of items; to check this, you can add up the number of "hands" on all your used items.

If you have two 1-hand items, "1 hand" + "1 hand" = "2 hands".

If you have two 1-hand items, plus Grabby Guts, you'll have "1 hand" + "1 hand" + "-1 hand" = "1 hand", leaving you with one hand left.

share|improve this answer
A succinct way of describing the "1 hand," "-1 hand," etc. verbiage is that the term describes the number of hands used to wield the item. – Ian Pugsley Jul 20 '11 at 12:42
A never think about doing the maths with hands – Zhen Sep 28 '12 at 11:52
BTW, the Two-Handed Sword from Munchkin 3: Clerical Errors works exactly the same way: it takes up a total of -1 hand, on account of having two hands of its own. – Ilmari Karonen Nov 13 '12 at 23:44

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.