Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have a card named Dissipation Field that reads, "Whenever a permanent deals damage to you, return it to its owner's hand."

If my opponent attacks me with a creature with infect (i.e. Cystbearer) while I control a Dissipation Field, does his creature return to his hand after combat damage is dealt?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 19 down vote accepted

Yes. The damage is still damage, and any triggered abilities based on damage will trigger. The only thing different is the effects of the damage, since you gain poison counters instead of losing life.

share|improve this answer
1  
See also cards like Flensermite: 1/1 Poison Lifelink. It would be a pretty poor Lifelinker if you never gained any life from it, due its damage being in the form of Poison counters! –  thesunneversets Jul 6 '11 at 19:12
3  
The key to this is the phrasing - damage is dealt in the form of poison counters, but damage is still dealt. Normally, damage dealt to a player causes a loss of life - in this case, that behavior is overridden. –  Ian Pugsley Jul 6 '11 at 20:24

Mark's answer above is correct, but I wanted to expand on this and couldn't do it properly in comments.


They don't count as damage, but they do count as dealing damage if their source is from a creature with the Infect static ability. The "deals damage in the form of poison counters" is probably the reminder text for the Infect keyword:

Infect (This deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters and players in the form of poison counters.)

There is a ruling on Infect:

Damage dealt to a player from a creature with infect does not deal damage as well as poison counters.

Damage is assigned as a number and can be prevented as normal, but when it is dealt to a player it turns into poison counters instead of reducing their life total. Damage has still been dealt, provided it was not reduced to 0.


On the other hand, a creature with Poisonous N deals damage normally and has a triggered ability:

Whenever this creature deals damage to a player, that player gets N poison counters.

In this case damage is dealt as damage as long as it isn't reduced to 0, and that triggers the N poison counters regardless of how much damage was dealt.


In either case, damage is dealt, whether or not it results in loss of life.

share|improve this answer
1  
damage is dealt as damage is a confusing phrase to me. I would rather say that the damage dealt causes life loss, or causes the player to gain poison counters. –  Sean McMillan Sep 19 '11 at 17:35
1  
Reaper of Sheoldred is a great example card. When it deals combat damage to a player, that's 2 damage in the form of poison counters. When it blocks a creature, your opponent will get a poison counter -- but it's not damage. –  Alex P Oct 20 '11 at 14:22

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.