Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Suppose Player 1 has a Dragon on the table and Unsummon in hand, while Player 2 has two Spiders on the table.

Player 1 chooses to attack with the Dragon and Player 2 chooses to block with one of the Spiders. Before damage has been put on the stack (Note: as of the 2010 MtG rules update, combat damage is a turn-based action that doesn't use the stack.) Player 1 uses Unsummon on the blocking Spider.

Does Player 2 take any life damage from the attacking Dragon?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 26 down vote accepted

No

The player takes no damage as the Dragon remains blocked. See the Compendium

509.1h An attacking creature with one or more creatures declared as blockers for it becomes a blocked creature; one with no creatures declared as blockers for it becomes an unblocked creature. This remains unchanged until the creature is removed from combat, an effect says that it becomes blocked or unblocked, or the combat phase ends, whichever comes first. A creature remains blocked even if all the creatures blocking it are removed from combat.

An Exception is, when the attacking creature has trample. See the Compendium

702.18c If an attacking creature with trample is blocked, but there are no creatures blocking it when damage is assigned, all its damage is assigned to the player or planeswalker it's attacking.

share|improve this answer

In short. Whenever a creature is declared blocked (by declaring a blocking creature), damage will be done to the creature, and not to the player. If something happens (eg bouce, sacrifice), the damage is still directed to the creature (which is gone, therefore the damage goes nowhere (creature blocked)).

If the attacking creature has trample, it's a little different. Trample says that all damage more than toughness of the defending creature, continues to the player. Note that with trample, you have to do minimal lethal damage to blocking crature (more is allowed).

share|improve this answer
2  
If the creature is gone, the damage is not directed at anything. If there is no blocking creature in play, the attacker remains blocked and does no damage. –  Colin D Sep 24 '13 at 12:59
    
@ColinD I think the idea here was to give the intuitive explanation, the attacking creature tries to deal damage to the blocking creature, but it's not there, so it doesn't do damage. I agree it wasn't precisely stated, though. –  Jefromi Sep 26 '13 at 17:03

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.