Sign up ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The "Special Orders" card states:

During this turn, the current player may move one other player's pawn (with permission) as if it were his own.

I have read this and the rule book (which gives further clarifications), but I am still unclear on the interaction of this card and the abilities of the different roles.

I am looking for a concise description of how the card works, which covers cases such as the following:

  • Generalist moving the medic through a cured disease,
  • Medic moving the generalist through a cured disease,
  • Troubleshooter moving operations expert by direct flight,
  • Someone moving the dispatcher, attempting to move a third player using their power,
  • ...

For bonus points I would be interested in any interactions with other special events that are relevant (i.e. confusion that I haven't had yet!)

share|improve this question
Barely worth mentioning (but you said bonus points!): anyone moving the containment specialist would remove a cube from every city the specialist enters with 2 or more cubes. – oldrobotsneverrust Jul 19 '11 at 20:15

1 Answer 1

up vote 14 down vote accepted

It's the dispatcher ability minus bringing people together. For example, you can use it to move the containment specialist or (with a cure) the medic through cities to remove cubes. We've done this to get double duty out of the medic late in the game when we were racing the board.

You are using your own move actions (and any constraints or benefits they bring) to move the other player. (You spend your own cards for flights, for example.) The other player's abilities are relevant if they are effects of moving, but not if they involve actions.

To address your cases:

  • Generalist moving the medic through a cured disease: cubes are removed; gets to move five times.
  • Medic moving the generalist through a cured disease: no effect (the medic didn't enter the city), four moves.
  • Troubleshooter moving ops expert by direct flight: he reveals the correct card rather than discarding it (his ability); but he doesn't get to use an arbitrary card if at a research station (the ops expert's ability).
  • Someone moving the dispatcher, attempting to move a third player: no, you don't get access yourself to the other player's special abilities. (But you could just move that third player instead with this action.)
share|improve this answer
I also assume that for the Generalist moving the Medic, you get 5 movement points, since you are moving them 'as if they were you'? – ire_and_curses Jul 19 '11 at 13:52
Oh right, missed that nuance. The Generalist gets five actions and Special Orders lets him move others with his actions, so yes he can move somebody else five times. – Monica Cellio Jul 19 '11 at 14:11
For the Troubleshooter moving the ops expert: Does he spend the card, or just show it? – tttppp Jul 19 '11 at 14:53
Corrected that -- the troubleshooter uses his ability to not discard the card, but does not get to use the ops expert's ability to use an arbitrary card. – Monica Cellio Jul 19 '11 at 15:23
Thanks - this is a very helpful answer! The card came up again last night in a game with people who hadn't played before. I felt quite prepared for it! – tttppp Jul 21 '11 at 8:28

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.