Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The rules that come with the game do not specifically state the a route (between two cities) can be included in more than one destination string, but this is assumed when we play.

Is that a correct assumption?

share|improve this question
Hi! Welcome to BCGSE. You might want to try and make the title of your question have more information about the question itself, instead of just the name of the game. You had two questions that looked identical on the main page because they had the same title. – lilserf Aug 3 '11 at 8:13

Yes. The section about scoring says:

Players should then reveal all their Destination Tickets and add (or subtract) the value of their Destination Tickets still in hand, based on whether they successfully (or not) connected those cities together.

So the only thing that matters is whether those cities are connected to each other. It's very possible that all your routes will share a single link across the middle of the country, and that's fine.

share|improve this answer
I'd go even further: potential reuse of the routes for multiple tickets is main strategical objective when you draw tickets – Tadeusz A. Kadłubowski Aug 5 '11 at 9:36
To put it another way: all that matters is that at the time you score the route card, your network of track connects the two cities on each card. In some versions, it's possible to have the same route multiple times; they all can use the same chunks of track. In versions with stations, the station has to be used for one specific chunk of track, but all routes can use that one track "borrowed" using the station. We place the station over it to indicate its use during the "proving" of one's tickets' completion. – aramis Aug 8 '11 at 7:24

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.