Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Citadels it's possible to build both the Library and Observatory:


If you choose to draw cards when you take an action, you keep both of the cards you have drawn.


If you choose to draw cards when you take an action, you draw three cards, keep one of your choice, and put the other two on the bottom of the deck.

What happens when I draw district cards when I have both districts in my city? Do I draw three cards and keep all of them, or do I draw three cards and keep two of them?

share|improve this question
Thank God, a real question – LittleBobbyTables Oct 20 '10 at 22:34
In the copy I have that came with Dark City, this is specifically stated in the rule book. :D – Gordon Gustafson Feb 5 '11 at 2:40
up vote 17 down vote accepted

Q: What if a player has both Library and Observatory in his city? How do their effects combine?

A: If this player draws cards, he draws three and keeps two.


That's straight from the horse's mouth, so to speak.

share|improve this answer

I'm inclined to say you should try and meet as much of the criteria as possible. That said, you would:

  1. Draw three cards
  2. Keep both (both meaning two) of the cards
  3. Put the remaining cards (one) on the bottom of the deck.
share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.