Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Saboteur 2, I am having trouble understanding precisely which dwarves win in certain situations. Could someone clarify what's already in the rulebook?

In particular, I was wondering: if a dwarf from the green team reaches the gold, does the blue team also win (and vice-versa)?

The way that made the most sense in my head was: if any dwarf of ANY kind reaches the gold, then winners include: the boss, the profiteer, and dwarves on teams for which a path to the gold is NOT blocked by a door. However, the rules seemed to say that WHICH dwarf reached the gold actually mattered, which doesn't really seem sensible.

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

I agree the the rules are poorly phrased in the "A team wins if:" section. It provides an outcome tree, but clearly fails to provide a branch for what happens if a dwarf from the other team creates a connection to the treasure, and the way is not blocked for that team by a door of the wrong colour.

Later in the rules, under "Splitting The Treasure" it states:

Depending on whether there is an uninterrupted path from the start to the treasure or not, the Gold-Diggers or the Saboteurs win the round. If the path to the treasure is blocked by a door, only the dwarves from the team of the same color win.

I think from that paragraph it becomes pretty clear that an uninterrupted path unblocked by any door would be a victory for all Gold-Diggers. I think your initial instincts were right and you shouldn't worry too much about the sloppily-phrased earlier paragraph. These things do happen, much to the distress of OCD rules lawyers like us!

share|improve this answer

The green team wins because they reached the end, played the last connection. The blue team does not win in your scenario.

Though I still don't understand how many gold to distribute myself. I do know the above.

share|improve this answer
This seems to have been responding to the other answer, but answers need to address the question itself - we're a Q&A site, and we don't work like a forum or do post-to-post discussion. See our tour for more information. I recommend if you want to back this up with a citation (e.g. the description you mentioned), you quote what you're citing. – doppelgreener Nov 24 '14 at 11:59

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.