Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the Prosperity rules it says "if you have 11 coppers in play and 2 Buys, you could buy a Mint, trash all of your played Treasures, and then buy a Grand Market." My question is: What are you going to buy the Grand Market with if you have trashed all your treasures?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 27 down vote accepted

Just because you trashed the coppers doesn't mean you haven't earned the coins for that turn (and can spend them). Their value to you is accrued when you play them.

Per the Prosperity rules you must play all treasures you want to use, before you buy cards. The rules for Mint state:

If you buy multiple cards in a turn, trash your Treasures right when you buy Mint; you still have any leftover coins they produced for spending on something else.

So the order would be:

  1. Play 11 coppers
  2. Have 11 coins to spend and 2 buys
  3. Purchase a Mint (have 6 coins left to spend and 1 buy)
  4. Resolve the Mint card and trash all coppers (still have 6 coins and 1 buy to spend)
  5. Purchase Grand Market (valid because no coppers are in play).
share|improve this answer
    
Okay, thanks, I was just under the impression if you trash a card it could no longer be used. –  Patricia Hoppes King Aug 14 '11 at 8:49
5  
It can't be used on future turns, but in fact on this turn it was ALREADY used to add coins to your "account" for use this turn. –  lilserf Aug 14 '11 at 17:32
    
Very interesting. Not a combination I'd considered for getting an early Grand Market. (Although I suppose there's still a lot of legwork because you need +Buys and a bunch of money.) –  Johno Oct 13 '12 at 9:08

The other answer here is incorrect. All your coppers are gone when you buy the Mint; you spent $11 to buy the $5 Mint card and the remaining $6 is squandered.

However, you still can buy a Grand Market if you have +$ from the actions you've played. For example, if you've played 3 Festivals for +$6, then you can buy a Grand Market after you buy the Mint and trash all the Coppers.

share|improve this answer
4  
Hi, welcome to the site! The other answer (and the orginal question) quote from the Prosperity rulebook. Do you have any sources to support contradicting it? –  Gregor Oct 12 '12 at 20:29
1  
I'm sorry, but the Prosperity rulebook as well as the online implementations on Isotropic and Goko (which have been vetted by Donald X., the game creator) all disagree with you. –  philosophyguy Oct 13 '12 at 22:07

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.