Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I just got a MTG card named Liege of the Tangle: card details.

I'm a little confused here. What does that "awakening counter" mean? How long will it remain? Can it be removed from the land?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 6 down vote accepted

A counter in Magic: The Gathering is permanent. This means it will stay in the game as long as it doesn't get removed by a spell or ability or the card to which it is attached leaves the battlefield (i.e. by dying, by getting exiled, etc.) This means that every land on which you put an awakening counter will stay a 8/8 green Elemental creature until it leaves the battlefield or something removes the counter.

Nobody can remove the counter without an appropriate spell or other mechanic as mentioned above.

You should be careful how many lands you want to transform. If your opponent has a mass creature destroyer in his hand like Day of Judgment, and he gets to play it, you could lose a lot of lands because they are creatures now as well. I played Liege of the Tangle myself a while ago and I adjusted the amount of lands I transformed based on the deck of my opponent.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for the explanation. –  Adam Arold Sep 4 '11 at 14:43
1  
For those keeping track, I could only find five cards that can remove the counter offensively: Æther Snap, Vampire Hexlord, Medicine Runner‌​, Spinal Parasite, Ferropede — not counting the most efficient way: "bounce" effects. –  ghoppe Sep 7 '11 at 18:04
    
Thanks for the research. Unfortunately those cards are a bit old. –  Adam Arold Sep 21 '11 at 10:15
    
@ghoppe: let's not forget Giant Fan :-P (actually: also Clockspinning) –  David Z Oct 20 '11 at 0:45
add comment

The rules clarification says all there is to say. "Awakening counters" are just a certain type of counter that's put on the target lands. They remain on a land as long as that permanent stays on the battlefield, or until an ability removes those counters.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.