Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I want to use the card Adaptive Automaton in my white artifacts deck. Most of the creatures in the deck are artifact creatures. Now, I am not sure if "artifact creature" is a correct creature type. Let's take Palladium Myr for example. It is of creature type "Myr" and also an "artifact creature". Are both attributes real creature types?

In case I cannot choose "artifact creature", those automatons will find a new home in my Elves deck, but I would prefer to have them in my white artifacts deck.

share|improve this question
2  
You may be interested in Xenograft –  ghoppe Sep 5 '11 at 4:33
2  
Or even more so: Steel Overseer and Tempered Steel. –  adamjford Sep 7 '11 at 19:59
    
ghoppe: Interesting... I don't have blue in the deck in question but it might be interesting for other decks. adamjford: I have 4 Tempered Steel in my Deck, they are really key to winning. I also experimented with Steel Overseers, but they are usually too slow to really pay off in my deck. –  Demento Sep 8 '11 at 11:45
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 17 down vote accepted

No, you can't, because "artifact" is not a creature type, it's a card type.

The information on the type line is divided into two portions, the type(s) and the subtype(s). Each word before the dash represents a type of the card, and each word after the dash (if any) represents a subtype. For example, Palladium Myr's type line says "Artifact Creature - Myr" so "artifact" and "creature" are its types and "Myr" is its subtype.

When a card says "creature type," it effectively means "subtype of a card which has 'Creature' or 'Tribal' as a type." In other words, the creature type is always a subtype, something that must appear after the dash.

Also, the complete list of possible creature types is given in the comprehensive rules, rule 204.3k as of this writing. When a card like Adaptive Automaton asks you to choose a creature type, you're only allowed to choose one of the words from that list (according to rule 204.3d).

share|improve this answer
add comment

"Artifact creature" is a card type (2 types to be exact, Artifact, and Creature), not a creature type. A creature type is always a sub-type of the "Creature" card type, like Elf, Orc, HUman, Soldier, Myr, and so on. So since Adaptive Automaton requires you to pick a creature type, you cannot pick "Artifact Creature"

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.