Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Cities and Knights expansion to Settlers of Catan has two cards that have caused us a bit of disagreement.

Mining and Irrigation Progress cards

Take the Mining Progress card for example. It says "...collect two ore for each mountain hex adjacent to one of your cities or settlements." If I only have one settlement and one city and they are both adjacent to the same ore hex, should I collect two cards or four? If you are to count mountain hex then it should be two, but if you are counting cities/settlements it should be four.

The same questions exists for the Irrigation Progress card.

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

You only collect two ore.

The 4th edition cards(pg. 15) contain updated text which makes this clear.

You may take two ore cards from the bank for each mountain hex which is adjacent to at least one of your cities or settlements.

You can purchase an updated card deck. I think this is all you need to update your set to the latest edition.

share|improve this answer

It would count twice (so four ore) in your example if the rules would have stated for each mountain hex adjacent to each of your cities or settlements, unfortunately it doesn't and you have to pick one of your cities or settlements to process the cards for, which one is up to you.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.