Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can Aquamoeba beat Glory Seeker if the Aquamoeba owner discards one or more cards during the fight?

aquamoeba

Discard a card from your hand: switch Aquamoeba's power and toughness until end of turn. 1/3 creature

Glory seeker

2/2 creature - human soldier

share|improve this question
    
Depends on your definition of "beat." –  adamjford Sep 12 '11 at 21:54
    
Well, i want possible scenarios. If you discard 0, 1 or 2 cards, what happens in each case (who dies and who survives and why) ? –  pinouchon Sep 13 '11 at 7:35
add comment

migrated from gaming.stackexchange.com Sep 11 '11 at 12:38

This question came from our site for passionate videogamers on all platforms.

3 Answers

up vote 15 down vote accepted

It used to be the case that you could do this:

  • Declare attackers and blockers
  • Activate the Aquamoeba's ability
  • Resolve the stack
  • Put 3 combat damage on the stack
  • Activate the Aquamoeba's ability again
  • Resolve stack

This would cause the Aquamoeba to have 3 power when damage was assigned but have 3 toughness when damage was resolved, killing the 2/2 but leaving the Aquamoeba alive.

However, changes to the combat rules for Magic 2010 were made that specifically prevented this. Now damage does not use the stack and is assigned and applied in one step, so the Aquamoeba can be either 1/3 at the time (and both survive) or 3/1 at the time (and both die).

share|improve this answer
    
@Tass Yes, I said that. :) It is often useful to read the whole answer in order to find all the words. –  SevenSidedDie Nov 11 '12 at 4:53
add comment

You should take the time to read up on how the Stack works.

Unless stated otherwise on the card, all activated abilities can be played at anytime, identical to an instant. This means you can activate Aquamoeba's ability during combat, and due to the way the Stack works Aquamoeba's ability will take effect before combat damage is dealt. Therefore using Aquamoeba's ability will result in both itself and Glory Seeker dying.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Yup it can. Card abilities can be activated like instants - therefore can be activated at any time of play. Although both creature would die because it does not have first strike.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.