Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Some cards allow you to add counters, or move counters, to other cards. Would you be allowed to do this onto a card that doesn't actually use any counters at all?

For example: Would Coretapper be allowed to put a charge counter on itself? What about putting one on something like Yotian Soldier?

I understand that a Charge Counter is not a +1/+1 counter, however having them around can be useful for things like Power Conduit.

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes, you can put Charge Counters anywhere that the ability/spell/whatever allows. For example, Coretapper's ability is limited to "target artifact", so any artifact it can target is fine. This sort of thing is exactly what Power Conduit is designed to take advantage of.

share|improve this answer
To clarify: You can put a counter on anything that fulfills the requirements, but they don't necessarily do anything. You can put a charge counter on any artifact, but if neither the game rules nor that artifact's ability (or any other ability) specifies an effect for that specific kind of counter, it simply has no effect. – Hackworth Sep 12 '11 at 15:42
Agreed. Coretapper can't place counters on something with Protection from Artifacts, of course, or a Tatterkite... but any valid target artifact is fair game for building up charge! – thesunneversets Sep 12 '11 at 15:42

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.