Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have some hexproof creatures in my deck and several enchantments. What I wish to know that if I put an enchantment like "Trollhide" on my hexproof creature like "Sacred Wolf" can an opponent remove it from my Sacred Wolf with an enchantment-removing spell, or my enchantment becomes hexproof too?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 13 down vote accepted

The enchantment doesn't become hexproof. It is only the creature that cannot be targeted by [an opponent's] spells and abilities.

So supposing that you have a spell that says "destroy target enchantment". This spell can remove an enchantment that's on a hexproof creature.

But suppose that you had an (imaginary) spell that says "exile all Auras on target creature". This would not have any effect on your Trollhide-toting Sacred Wolf, because it needs to target the creature, not the enchantments, and this time this is illegal.

EDIT: Since there's a bit of a mania for quoting the Comprehensive Rules at the moment, here's the section on hexproof:

702.11b "Hexproof" on a permanent means "This permanent can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control."

That's all it means. The hexproof doesn't confer any immunity from targeting on anything other than the permanent that has hexproof.

share|improve this answer
    
Great, thanks! I'll accept it ASAP. –  Adam Arold Sep 20 '11 at 15:15
5  
Mania?!? You callin' me crazy? I take great pride in quoting the Comprehensive Rules! Answer with references and authoritah! –  ghoppe Sep 22 '11 at 14:36
    
What is this comment? –  Adam Arold Mar 20 '13 at 12:06
    
But suppose that you had an (imaginary) spell that says "exile all Auras on target creature". -- There's no "exile all auras on target creature," but Strip Bare (Shadowmoor) destroys all auras and equipment attached to target creature. –  Brian S Sep 26 at 14:24

NOTE - Of course, cards like 'Paraselene' - Which 'destroy all enchantments' - are especially useful if your opponent has taken this into consideration, and is using a card that makes ALL enchantments hexproof. Cards like 'Sleep' would also take effect, as they're not targetting the creature (admittedly, it won't destroy the creature or remove enchantments, but it buys you time to - hopefully - draw a card that can).

share|improve this answer
    
This doesn't answer the question. The question asks "Is my enchantment also hexproof?" and your answer is effectively "Hexproof doesn't interact with cards that don't have a stated target". This would probably have been better as a comment. –  Aiken 8 hours ago

protected by doppelgreener Sep 26 at 12:28

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality answers, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.