Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If there are no cities on the board, barbarian strength is rated at zero. So automatically the players have tied or beaten the barbarians. Are progress cards allocated under these circumstances? If there are activated knights on the board, can a victory point be achieved?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

Yes,

This is answered by the online Catan FAQ.

Can the players win against the barbarians if there is not one single city on Catan?

Yes

share|improve this answer
add comment

No,

but that's if you're playing the English variant. In that variant, each player chooses how much to contribute to the defense of Catan. A player isn't allowed to defend Catan if they have no cities, thus no-one can win and get a reward.

share|improve this answer
    
This question is not about having no knights, it is about having no cities. –  Greg Feb 14 '12 at 19:43
    
Thanks - I wrote knights where I meant cities. –  xorsyst Feb 15 '12 at 11:45
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.