Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Possible Duplicate:
Does Wrath of God really destroy creatures with shroud?

Does this:

Day of Judgment

or other similar cards remove any hexproof / shrouded creatures?

share|improve this question

marked as duplicate by Pat Ludwig Sep 26 '11 at 13:49

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 1 down vote accepted

Yes. Since the creature is not targeted, but is being affected by a global property neither hexproof nor shroud offer any protection.

702.17a Shroud is a static ability. “Shroud” means “This permanent or player can’t be the target of spells or abilities.”

702.11b “Hexproof” on a permanent means “This permanent can’t be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control.”

In both cases "not being targeted" is the key.

share|improve this answer
    
If I think through this logically it seems that this spell targets ALL creatures. How can your spell destroy a creature if it does not target it? –  Adam Arold Sep 26 '11 at 13:31
    
From where did you copy that rule btw? I always see those cryptic paragraps (like 702.17a) but I don't know where do they came from. –  Adam Arold Sep 26 '11 at 13:33
    
@edem : You explicitly need the keyword "target" on the card. Day of Judgment does not destroy "target creatures" but "all creatures". –  Demento Sep 26 '11 at 13:35
2  
@edem See the Magic Rules page. Each line of the Comprehensive Rules is numbered. –  ghoppe Sep 26 '11 at 14:16
add comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.