Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When you buy resources from neighbor do you take the card or just get access to the resources you need?

share|improve this question
    
Welcome to the site Chris! –  Pat Ludwig Sep 28 '11 at 6:02
2  
That would make some kind of really interesting variant, but it's definitely not the basic rule :) –  thesunneversets Sep 28 '11 at 9:23
    
Chris, don't you want to accept an answer? –  unor Jan 26 '13 at 0:39

2 Answers 2

Just the resources.

The rules on page 4 define things pretty well.

Cards are called "structures", the brown ones can generate "resources"

Often, a player will want to build a structure requiring resources he or she does not produce.

If these resources are produced by a neighboring city – players sitting directly to the left or right of that player – the player will be able to purchase the missing resource(s) through commerce.

In red, there is a notice:

Important : the resources are not spent during construction. They can be used each turn, for the entire game. The production of a city is never reduced (the cards played are never discarded).

Obviously if you were to take the card, the production of the city would be reduced and this is prohibited.

share|improve this answer

No, you do not take the card. The neighbor retains the card; you are simply allowed to use your neighbor's cards, for a fee of course.

You can also buy the resource from the top corner of the civilization cards as well. It doesn't need to be a "card".

share|improve this answer
1  
I agree. Cards are not resources, it's more like a shop. You don't take the shop when you buy things in it. –  Oltarus Sep 28 '11 at 4:47
4  
But it does need to be gray or brown, stuff from yellow cards cannot be purchased. –  jjb Sep 28 '11 at 22:16

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.