Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Suppose I cast Oblivion Ring and have it target the Pacifism which is encumbering one of my creatures. What happens if the Oblivion Ring is subsequently destroyed?

  1. Pacifism re-enters play enchanting the same creature as before
  2. Pacifism chooses a new target when it re-enters play
  3. Nothing -- Auras can only exist while enchanting a creature, so Pacifism disappears in a poof of smoke when it's exiled, similar to what tokens do.
share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

According to the rulings on this card's gatherer entry

01/10/2008 If the exiled card is an Aura, that card's owner chooses what it will enchant as it comes back onto the battlefield. An Aura put onto the battlefield this way doesn't target anything, but the Aura's enchant ability restricts what it can be attached to. If the Aura can't legally be attached to anything, it remains exiled forever.

It would appear that option 2 in your question is the correct interpretation.

share|improve this answer
    
I didn't notice that there was a ruling on exactly this question :). Two interesting points: the Aura "doesn't target anything" when it re-enters the battlefield, meaning that you could attach it to a creature with prot white or hexproof, and if it can't legally attach to anything it remains exiled rather than simply going to the graveyard. –  JSBձոգչ Oct 3 '11 at 16:06
    
@JSBᾶngs Yes, "doesn't target anything" when it re-enters has an interesting implication, but I believe that protection from white prevents it from being attached ... there's a hair to split there on hexproof, that would require looking at the comprehensive rules regarding "attach" :) –  Stephen Oct 3 '11 at 16:09
    
I think you're right about prot white. My reasoning is that a creature that gains protection immediately sheds any relevant auras that it has, so protection is a state-based effect that doesn't just affect targeting. I'm looking through the comprehensive rules now, though. –  JSBձոգչ Oct 3 '11 at 16:17
1  
Ok, here's the rule: 702.15c A permanent or player with protection can't be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent or player with protection will be put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based action. (See rule 704, "State-Based Actions."). So you could attach it to a creature with prot white, but it would immediately go into the graveyard as a state-based effect. –  JSBձոգչ Oct 3 '11 at 16:19
    
@Stephen: attaching isn't inherently targeted, I'm pretty sure, so you could attach it to a creature with hexproof or shroud. –  David Z Oct 3 '11 at 22:10

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.