Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can colorless mana be generated from things that say "Add one mana of any color to your mana pool"?

One example card would be Coalition Relic.

Reasons:

  • For example for sunburst spells, when the caster wants less of the sunburst effect, for whatever reason.
  • You need to win the game with Scrapyard Salvo this turn, but you're one artifact in your graveyard short - casting a Sunburst creature as a 0/0 could be your only out
share|improve this question
2  
In what circumstance are you envisaging that it would matter for your mana to be specifically colourless, out of interest? –  thesunneversets Oct 19 '11 at 21:46
    
@thesunneversets For example for sunburst spells, when the caster wants less of the sunburst effect, for whatever reason –  Hackworth Oct 20 '11 at 8:24
    
If you can get Sunburst at all, can't you just use your "add one mana of any colour" ability to add a colour you've already used? Genuinely curious and not dissing the original question - Magic is the sort of game where there must be a corner case where it'd be better for your mana to be colourless, I just couldn't think of one off the top of my head. –  thesunneversets Oct 20 '11 at 9:16
1  
Let's suppose you need to win the game with Scrapyard Salvo this turn, but you're one artifact in your graveyard short - casting a Sunburst creature as a 0/0 could be your only out. Tortuous! But possible. –  thesunneversets Oct 20 '11 at 12:31
2  
@thesunneversets, However, this question is still relevant to non-EDH decks as well. –  cdeszaq Oct 20 '11 at 13:58

2 Answers 2

up vote 14 down vote accepted

No, it cannot.

105.4. If a player is asked to choose a color, he or she must choose one of the five colors. "Multicolored" is not a color. Neither is "colorless."

Except in Commander/EDH, where specifying a color outside your commander's color identity will give you colorless mana in your mana pool.

903.9. If mana would be added to a player’s mana pool of a color that isn’t in the color identity of that player’s commander, that amount of colorless mana is added to that player’s mana pool instead.

share|improve this answer

As David said, you absolutely must choose a color for "any color" mana.

A replacement effect can make that mana colorless, though. The most obvious example is:

903.9. If mana would be added to a player’s mana pool of a color that isn’t in the color identity of that player’s commander, that amount of colorless mana is added to that player’s mana pool instead.

So if the "I want sunburst 0" issue comes up for, say, a Bosh, Iron Golem EDH deck, you could declare "white" (or any other color except red) when tapping your any-color sources, and then you'd end up with colorless mana in your mana pool.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.