Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

A couple of other questions have been asked regarding cards that "Add one mana of any color to your mana pool", but

  1. One is for EDH decks in general (which, in most cases, have at least one color)
  2. The other is for colorless mana in general (which would likely also be used in a colored deck, or a non-EDH deck where extra colors don't matter)

What I'm trying to answer now is if those sorts of cards can be used in a colorless EDH deck.

So, for example, if I have one of the big Eldrazi as my commander, I know I can have Coalition Relic in the deck because it has a colorless color identity. But, once it's on the field, can I use it to generate usable mana?

share|improve this question
@Stephen - that's the question he linked to. This question is a duplicate. – Origami Robot Oct 20 '11 at 13:35
@Stephen, Neither of the two questions I linked to clearly answered my question. I'm asking about, specifically, colorless EDH decks and trying to figure out what are legal ways to generate mana for them. The two other questions deal with "Any color mana" for EDH, and with regards to colorless-ness, but neither deal with it directly. Since colorless EDH decks are a rather strange beast and has generated a lot of questions and discussion in my play group, I felt a specific question was warranted. – cdeszaq Oct 20 '11 at 13:55
@cdeszaq In all cases the answer is "903.9". Your question really is "what is the colour identity of an EDH commander who is colourless and costs colourless mana to cast?" ... applying the answer to that question to the referred to question then gives you the whole picture. – Stephen Oct 20 '11 at 14:01
@cdeszaq - the questions specifies "any EDH deck" which I realize can be confusing since in the context of the game, "any color" does not include colorless, but the question you linked to contains my exact answer. – Origami Robot Oct 20 '11 at 14:04
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes. This is mentioned in the first question you linked to.

903.9. If mana would be added to a player’s mana pool of a color that isn’t in the color identity of that player’s commander, that amount of colorless mana is added to that player’s mana pool instead.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.