Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Lets say I am attacking with a Runeclaw Bear with an Inquisitor's Flail equipped. My opponent uses a Runeclaw Bear of his own to block. I then use Kessig Wolf Run to give my creature +3/+0 and trample.

How much damage can I deal my opponent in this scenario?

share|improve this question
3  
+1 for a good question. Ian's answer is correct, but in the mists of time, I believe things worked a different way - a Trampler would deal damage to a blocking creature, and then excess damage would be somehow redirected to the defending player... and as such a card like Inquisitor's Flail (or Furnace of Rath, back in the day) might effectively double the damage twice! Things are a lot simpler and better the way they work now, I think. –  thesunneversets Oct 21 '11 at 13:38
    
@thesunneversets - things definitely work better now , especially the interaction between deathtouch and trample. I do kind miss the days when lifelink stacked though.... –  Origami Robot Oct 21 '11 at 13:43
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 11 down vote accepted

Inquisitor's Flail doesn't let you assign damage any differently, it is merely a replacement effect for how damage is dealt. So essentially, you have a 5/2 trampling Runeclaw Bear up against a regular 2/2 Runeclaw Bear. You must assign lethal damage to the blocking Runeclaw before you can assign any damage to the defending player, so you can only assign a maximum of 3 to the defending player. When damage is dealt, Inquisitor's Flail doubles everything, resulting in 4 being dealt to each Runeclaw Bear, and 6 being dealt to the defending player.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.