Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

My understanding is that creatures with shadow can only block or be blocked by creatures with shadow, and creatures with flying can only be blocked by creatures with flying. If I have a creature with shadow and cast a spell that gives it flying (say, Jump), can it now only be blocked by nothing but a creature that also has both those abilities?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 7 down vote accepted

In a general sense, you are correct. Both abilities impose a restriction that's tracked individually. A creature must satisfy all the restrictions in order to block your super-evasive attacker.

My one niggle is that there are non-flyers that can block fliers, such as creatures with reach. And there are a few creatures, like Wall of Diffusion, that don't have shadow but have "~ can block creatures with shadow as though ~ had shadow" as an ability, which allows them to block shadow creatures (and non-shadow creatures as well, since they don't actually have shadow).

Here's some comp rules for ya, with this exact example:

509.1b The defending player checks each creature he or she controls to see whether it’s affected by any restrictions (effects that say a creature can’t block, or that it can’t block unless some condition is met). If any restrictions are being disobeyed, the declaration of blockers is illegal.

A restriction may be created by an evasion ability (a static ability an attacking creature has that restricts what can block it). If an attacking creature gains or loses an evasion ability after a legal block has been declared, it doesn’t affect that block. Different evasion abilities are cumulative.

Example: An attacking creature with flying and shadow can’t be blocked by a creature with flying but without shadow.

Trivia: Stronghold Overseer has both flying and shadow natively. On a 5/5 body to boot!

share|improve this answer
    
Adding Intimidate to the mix would be another way of making a Flying/Shadow creature that another Flying/Shadow creature would not necessarily be able to block... –  thesunneversets Oct 26 '11 at 7:30
    
Check out the Oracle text of Wall of Diffusion. It's more clear as it says may block as though it had shadow as in fulfills the shadow requirement. Compared to the old can block creatures with shadow which sounds as something absolute. –  AndSoYouCode Oct 26 '11 at 7:33
    
@thesunneversets Now all it needs is horsemanship. ;) –  Alex P Oct 26 '11 at 13:21
    
Oh yeah, Horsemanship! Fair in Portal: Three Kingdoms; undercosted total unblockability in Eternal formats... –  thesunneversets Oct 26 '11 at 13:23
    
Why not throw fear in the mix as well? Or we could just give the guy some kind of landwalk or protection from creatures and be done with it. :) –  AndSoYouCode Oct 26 '11 at 13:47
show 2 more comments

Yes you need both to fulfill both requirements to be able to block a creature with both shadow and flying. You can fulfill these requirements either by having shadow and flying or through other abilities such as reach.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.