Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The text for the Scientific Cooperation Pact reads:

Every time one of the civilizations plays a technology, it pays 2 science less and the other civilization pays 1 science.

What happens if the other civilization has zero accumulated science? Does the tech-playing civilization still get the 2 science discount, or does the pact have no effect?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

I actually fell into this trap in a game, and was surprised at the rules. If the other civilization can't pay, you can't develop.

The question was asked on BGG, and the rule that covered it was also discussed there- it's on the last page of the rules, i.e. on pg. 20 under Scientific Cooperation:

If one civilization has no science points, neither civilization can play a technology.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.