Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Here is the chain of events: I activate The Shallow Grave to special summon a needle worm from my graveyard (and my opponent chooses their monster), and then my opponent uses D.D. Crow to remove the needle worm from play.

Does my opponent still get the monster he has chosen to special summon?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Based on this ruling on Disappear:

When a card that selects a card in the Graveyard as a target, such as "Monster Reborn", "Mask of Darkness", "Magician of Faith", "Spear Cretin", or "The Shallow Grave", is activated, you may chain "Disappear" to remove the targeted card from play, and the "Monster Reborn", etc., will resolve without effect. This is because these cards select their target at activation, not resolution.

(Source)

Your opponent wouldn't get the monster.

D.D. Crow appears to work exactly like Disappear when discarded. So the same ruling should apply.

share|improve this answer
    
Aha, that is exactly the sort of thing I was looking for. –  Rapida Oct 22 '10 at 3:44

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.