Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is the Mechana Initiate worth buying (except at the end to get some easy points)? It's only 1 Rune or 1 Power, which seems weak compared to the other Initiates.

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers 3

up vote 3 down vote accepted

The key thing with the Initiate is the flexibility. While often weaker than other choices, sometimes that's all you have available. I've seen some games where only the Mechana Initate player was able to afford some of the power cards due to that flexibility. It's true that he will increase the size of the deck, so if you're going for a power-combo deck, then he's likely not a good choice. However, if your deck building is based more on value-per turn opportunities (score rushing), you can often win before combo decks get going. This initiate will be key that that kind of strategy.

share|improve this answer
add comment

I'm not sold on the Mechana Initiate as a good card. The flexibility IS nice, but you're choosing between making it a Militia or an Apprentice -- two cards you'd be well-advised to aggressively prune from your deck. It does very little to help you either purchase the big-ticket items or go big game hunting.

In the early game, I suspect the correct move is to ignore it and let somebody else clutter their deck with it.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Late-game, it's a reliable way to get one honor for one rune. If you're not going to be cycling through your deck again, the goal of buying cards is to maximize the value of what's in your deck.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.