Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I have two Skinshifters in play, can I use the ability of one to effect the other? For instance, if one of my Skinshifters has Ice Cage on it, can I use the other Skinshifter's ability to morph the "caged" one, thereby breaking the Ice Cage?

share|improve this question

No, you can't.

Breaking an Ice Cage on a Skinshifter with another Skinshifter's ability won't work for 2 reasons:

First and most straightforward, the Skinshifter's ability does not require a target, and Ice Cage requires the enchanted creature to be targeted by a spell or ability for it to break.

Second, you can use Skinshifter's ability only to change itself, not another Skinshifter.

If a card says "Something happens to CARD NAME", then this always references the card this text is printed on, unless explicitly stated otherwise. If a card references another card by name, the syntax is always something like "A card/creature named XY", for example like Llanowar Sentinel, or Angel's Herald.

The rules for that is this:

201.4. Text that refers to the object it's on by name means just that particular object and not any other objects with that name, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects.

share|improve this answer
I would have switched your order. While the first rule you listed may be the most straightforward, the second is the most important. ;) – ghoppe Dec 8 '11 at 15:45
thanks guys. Just getting back into it, and the rules have gotten a bit more complicated. – travis Dec 8 '11 at 19:08
AFAIK, the "Text that refers to the object it's on by name" rule has been around since the beginning of the game. – adamjford Dec 9 '11 at 17:21

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.