Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If there is one noble left in line and you play "fled to England" to discard it (thus, ending the day) do you collect a noble from the new day?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

I concur with Pat's answer - I have my copy of the rules in front of me, so can quote chapter and verse!

Play continues in this manner until there are no nobles left in line at the start of someone's turn. That day is then over and a new day begins. ... The player to the left of the person who started the previous day is the first player for the new day.

Essentially, emptying the line of nobles does not end the day, nor is the line immediately refilled with nobles. The day ends at the start of the next player's turn, and as Pat says, a new player will be selected to be start player and thus the first to collect a noble.

share|improve this answer


My recollection is that when the day ends, the current players turn is over. The next player is the player to the left of the person who started the last day. That player will fill the line with nobles and take their full turn.

Unfortunately I cannot locate my copy right now and the rules don't appear to be online, so I can't give you a direct rules citation at this time.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.