Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Two very closely related questions:

If a card has two different "Sacrifice this creature for X" abilities on it, does sacrificing it give both benefits?

Likewise, if a card requires a creature to be sacrificed, but that creature has a "Sacrifice this creature for X" ability, do you get the sacrifice benefit when you sacrifice it for the other requirement?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 6 down vote accepted

No to both - each ability has an individual cost, which you'll need to fulfill before it is put on the stack.

Anytime you see Sacrifice [X]: Do [Y], that is expressing a cost that must be paid in order to activate the ability. A single paid cost may not activate multiple abilities; see the following (from the comp. rules):

117.10. Each payment of a cost applies to only one spell, ability, or effect. For example, a player can't sacrifice just one creature to activate the activated abilities of two permanents that each require sacrificing a creature as a cost. Also, the resolution of a spell or ability doesn't pay another spell or ability's cost, even if part of its effect is doing the same thing the other cost asks for.

share|improve this answer
    
To offer a slightly different way to think about it: an ability that says "Sacrifice [X]: Do [Y]" does not mean that "[Y]" automatically happens whenever you sacrifice [X]. And in general, it's not the case that the effect of an ability occurs whenever you happen to take the action specified in the cost. You have to specifically choose to use a particular ability in order to get its effect, as Ian said. –  David Z Dec 30 '11 at 5:28
2  
And to make it really intuitively obvious: when you pay mana as a cost, you don't get to reuse it either. –  Jefromi Dec 30 '11 at 14:54
    
@Jefromi When Ian pointed out it was a cost then I immediately thought of not being able to reuse mana. –  Jim McKeeth Dec 30 '11 at 18:23
add comment

No, for the reasons given by Ian, however, if the card had read "Whenever a creature is sacrificed do X. Sacrifice a creature: Do Y" you would get both effects as the first is triggering to the action of sacrificing, and is not stating a cost.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for the clarification. What about sacrificing a creature to Eldrazi Monument? –  Jim McKeeth Dec 30 '11 at 18:22
    
You would be able to claim a bonus for "whenever a creature is sacrificed" worded abilities, but cannot use it for sac x: do y because the Eldrazi is stating the sacrifice is an upkeep cost. –  Stephen Dec 30 '11 at 19:16
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.