Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If you buy the Grand Market in your turn, can you then use spare copper to buy something else? Or does doing so forbid you from having bought the Grand Market?

share|improve this question
up vote 14 down vote accepted

No. Technically, you play all treasure cards you want to use before entering at the beginning of your buy phase, after which point you cannot play more cards. If you have played any copper, you cannot buy Grand Market, and if you have already bought Grand Market you are into your buy phase already and cannot play any coppers.

The pseudo-exception is in the case of Black Market, which adds an extra buy phase. You could buy a Grand Market from a Black Market play, and then play coppers to use in your end-of-turn buy phase.

share|improve this answer
Another sort of exception is with Mint. If you get $11 with two buys, you can buy a Mint, trash the coppers in play, and then buy a Grand Market. – rrenaud Jan 2 '12 at 14:47
@RobRenaud This may be obvious, but just to clarify this to people who may misinterpret your comment: all the Treasure cards in play are trashed when you buy the Mint, not just the Coppers... it's just the Coppers are the ones stopping you from buying the Grand Market first. – Powerlord Mar 1 '12 at 19:58
@philosophyguy I could be wrong, but I think that rule was originally introduced in Alchemy. – Powerlord Mar 1 '12 at 19:59

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.