Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Cargo Noir, when one sends ships to the ports to bid on the cargo there, is it valid to bid zero coins? The wording of the rules in various places seems to expect that at least one coin is always there, but we couldn't find anything that flat-out says so.

share|improve this question
Welcome to the site! I've added the cargo-noir tag for you. – Jadasc Jan 4 '12 at 2:14
Thanks! I tried to do that, but my numbers are still too small. ;) – Argyle Jan 4 '12 at 3:11
up vote 6 down vote accepted

No, a zero coin bid is not valid. This was asked on BGG, and the clarification "no you cannot" is from Eric Hautemont, one of the game designers at Days of Wonder (who produced the game).

share|improve this answer
Just as I suspected, but good to have confirmation. – Argyle Jan 4 '12 at 3:12

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.