Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Dominion, can I play my treasure cards first, and watchtower last to gain more cards? I tried this last night, and my friend read the rule that says you only play treasure cards in your buy phase.

share|improve this question
up vote 13 down vote accepted

Your friend is correct. You may only play treasure cards during your buy phase, at which point you are no longer able to play action cards.

share|improve this answer
Does this mean this answer is incorrect: ? – Pureferret Jan 4 '12 at 10:20
@Pureferret - you can only play treasure cards during your buy phase, but think of it as playing all of them at the start of the buy phase. You don't play some treasure, then buy some cards, then play more treasure. Likewise, all actions must be played before the beginning of the buy phase. Everything in its right order and in its right place :) – thesunneversets Jan 4 '12 at 10:35
Unless you are playing with Black Market. Black Market lets you play all your tresures in it's "psudo-buy phase". Then you can play more actions, after Black Market resolves. – Matthew Scouten Sep 26 '12 at 19:52

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.