Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

As I understand the rules, you can play a very special card from your hand at any time. However, what I can't tell is whether you then replace that card, or just continue playing, one card short.

Do you replace it immediately, or do you draw two cards on your next turn?

share|improve this question
    
Excellent question. I do not believe the rules clearly address this point. It's my belief that you can only play SAVED very special cards on other people's turns (thus avoiding the question). You can write them here to get an official answer: killerbunnies.com/?page_id=292 The other 'fun' option is that playing a very special card from your hand is never replaced, so don't play too many of them that way! :) –  Neal Tibrewala Jan 19 '12 at 7:34
    
Thanks Chris, I was going to ask this question today. –  Nathan Koop Feb 6 '12 at 19:41

1 Answer 1

The rules state that you can play a Very Special card from your hand at any time, even when it's not your go.

The rules also state (order of operations) that at the end of your go you should have 5 cards in your hand and 2 in the run. So you should take a card when you play a Very Special card, although it's not completely clear whether you should do so immediately or wait until the end of your go to do so. Unless you happen to pick up another Very Special card or a Play Immediately card I don't think the timing actually makes any difference.

Anyway, I've always played that you take a replacement card immediately when you play a Very Special card from your hand, it seems the most sensible approach.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.