Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I play Enchanted Evening and turn everything into an enchantment, and then play Grand Abolisher to disallow them activating abilities during my turn, can my opponents tap their lands during my turn (say, to make a payment for something)?

share|improve this question
Just wondering: are you going to use this interaction to pull some kind of hilarious trick? Because, if you are, I want to know what it is. – Alex P Jan 24 '14 at 13:27
up vote 5 down vote accepted

No they cannot.

From the rulings on Enchanted Evening:

This has no effect on those permanents other than letting them interact with things that care about enchantments.

Which Grand Abolisher clearly interacts with:

During your turn, your opponents can't cast spells or activate abilities of artifacts, creatures, or enchantments.

I think it's clear that lands have an innate implied ability, even if not printed of "Tap: Add 1 mana of the appropriate colour to your mana pool."

So all we need to know is that this ability is treated like any other:

CR 605.3. Activating an activated mana ability follows the rules for activating any other activated ability (see rule 602.2)

The exceptions listed don't apply to this case because Grand Abolisher is not countering the mana ability, it is preventing it from happening. Just because it's a mana ability doesn't make it special in this case.

share|improve this answer
I thought there was a weird exception for mana abilities, but I'm not sure; hence why I asked the question here – DForck42 Jan 18 '12 at 16:33
@DForck42 Hopefully my edits help clear that up. – Stephen Jan 18 '12 at 16:44
DForck42: I think you're thinking of the longago (pre-6th edition) rules about Mana Abilities, which said that they couldn't be countered; IIRC this briefly covered even spells like Dark Ritual. Those changes are long-since gone, and now things that don't affect mana abilities explicitly say so, but effects like Null Rod's (or Grand Abolisher's, or Linvala's) aren't at all picky. – Steven Stadnicki Jan 20 '12 at 18:22
@StevenStadnicki 605.3b An activated mana ability doesn’t go on the stack, so it can’t be targeted, countered, or otherwise responded to. Rather, it resolves immediately after it is activated. – Stephen Jan 20 '12 at 19:04
@StevenStadnicki Grand Abolisher is preventing activating the activated mana ability per 605.3 but if the ability were activated, it could not be countered per 605.3b – Stephen Jan 20 '12 at 19:05

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.