Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

With Enchanted Evening, all permanents are also enchantments. Mesa Enchantress allows you to draw when you play an enchantment. If I have both out, and play a creature, do I get to draw a card?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

No, because Enchanted Evening does not change the card type of spells on the stack.

The Enchantress' Oracle wording makes this clearer:

Whenever you cast an enchantment spell, you may draw a card.

"Casting" refers to the action of putting a spell on the stack.

Enchanted Evening only affects permanents. It will do so from the very moment they enter the battlefield, so they enter the battlefield as enchantments. But the spell that creates the permanent (which is the game object that's represented by the card on the stack) isn't an enchantment spell.

share|improve this answer
    
Ahh, ok. I was thinking "comes into play", not casting/playing –  DForck42 Jan 19 '12 at 20:02
    
Yeah, the old use of "play" for "cast" makes for quite a bit of confusion. :/ –  Alex P Jan 19 '12 at 20:06

Yes it does, this ruling hasn't changed, and probably wont since its very rare to use.

"Captain Sisay" Searches your library for legendary card.

A card retains all text relevant to the card anywhere except rfg. Note the card says 'All permanents are enchantments.' Not 'All permanents you control...' This ruling is used alot pre-eight. And will more than likely not change since most formats that allow pre-eight cards are considered casual.

Hope this has helped.

share|improve this answer
1  
I'm very confused. What does Captain Sisay have to do with this, or whether or not the permanent's under your control? What ruling? Is this the question you actually intended to answer, or did you accidentally answer a different question? –  doppelgreener Jul 28 at 6:39
1  
most formats pre-eight includes vintage and legacy, possibly the furthest formats from casual (at least, pricetag wise) in the entirety of MTG, im not sure what other formats you are thinking of that qualify these sets as casual only. The answer is wrong, as cards are only permanents if they are on the battlefield. "You control" only prevents the card affecting opponent's permanents. Cards in other zones are just that, cards, not permanents. –  Patters Jul 28 at 8:06

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.