Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Grafdigger's Cage doesn't prevent me from casting Green Sun's Zenith from my hand, but what happens if I do?

share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

Two important comp. rules here:

101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can't happen, the "can't" effect takes precedence.

609.3. If an effect attempts to do something impossible, it does only as much as possible.

So you'll search your library for a green creature cost with converted mana cost X or less, do absolutely nothing with it (since you cannot, due to Grafdigger's Cage) and leave it in your library, then shuffle your library, then shuffle Green Sun's Zenith into it's owner's library.

This allows you to shuffle Green Sun's Zenith into your library for G, which might be handy/relevant in some obscure case (possibly against mill decks?).

share|improve this answer
It is also important if someone somehow flashes in a Grafdigger's Cage while GSZ is on the stack. – Origami Robot Jan 19 '12 at 21:03
So, do you still get the creature into your hand, you just have to play it again? – DForck42 Jan 20 '12 at 13:18
@DForck42 no, there's no effect that allows you to put the creature from your library into your hand. You get to search your library for a creature and do nothing with it. – Ian Pugsley Jan 20 '12 at 13:42
OK, so the creature just gets dumped into the graveyard. You might add that for clarity (because it wasn't clear to me) – DForck42 Jan 20 '12 at 19:30
@DForck42, I don't think the creature goes into the graveyard, because it isn't countered. I think it just gets shuffled into the library with the Zenith. – JSBձոգչ Jan 20 '12 at 19:49

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.