Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We love this game, but have one big question about the rules for Step 2/Step 3. For the 2 cards flipped in Step 2, if no one at all wants them, does the active player HAVE to plant them come Step 3, or do they go in the discard pile?

Thanks!

share|improve this question
    
Welcome to B&CG! –  Pat Ludwig Jan 20 '12 at 4:08
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes,

They have to be planted by the active player if not traded to another player. However,the active player can plant one (ripping out whatever was there) and then, if all his bean fields have no more than one bean planted, plant the second in the same field (ripping out the first bean).

Don't forget that the active player can donate those beans too. Sometimes it is the best option.

share|improve this answer
5  
One of the biggest sadnesses I have about Bohnanza (in the groups I play with) is that hardly ever does my group elect to "screw" a player by communally refusing to take their unwanted beans off of them. I feel like to could be a valuable lesson for an over-ambitious player! Maybe I'm just a big meanie though. –  thesunneversets Jan 20 '12 at 12:32
2  
Don't forget that you can't rip up a field with a single bean unless all your fields have single beans. Thus if the active player has two fields with 2+ beans in each and they can't get rid of either flipped bean, they may end up having to rip up both existing fields. –  Chris Dodd Jan 20 '12 at 22:53
    
Thanks everyone! Got it. The active player MUST plant any of the 2 flipped cards that could not be traded, or given, away. –  Ryan Jan 22 '12 at 4:29
    
@ChrisDodd: Thanks - never noticed that rule! Will look up my (Dutch, ~2003?) edition of the rules booklet to see if it's in there... –  Erik P. Jan 25 '12 at 21:20
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.