Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the new Dark Ascension expansion, the card Markov Blademaster has double strike. Stormkirk Captain gives all other Vampires first strike and +1/+1.

This means that the Blademaster has double and first strike. Does that mean it deals combat damage three times?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

It will only deal combat damage twice. First Strike and Double Strike create an additional combat damage step.

702.4b/702.7b If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike or double strike as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.

Only one extra combat damage step is created in which all creatures with first strike and/or double strike deal their combat damage. Then it moves onto the "normal" combat damage step where double strikers deal their comabt damage again (along with anything that had neither first strike nor double strike)

share|improve this answer
1  
Also note 702.4c Removing double strike from a creature during the first combat damage step will stop it from assigning combat damage in the second combat damage step. –  ghoppe Jan 20 '12 at 20:49
add comment

It will only hit 2 times.

Double strike just means that the monster deals damage during first strike and regular damage. It's already dealing first strike damage, so adding first strike won't add anything.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.