While going through the Gatherer database I noticed that the Alpha version of Icy Manipulator says,
C: You may tap any land, creature, or artifact in play on either side.
whereas the Tenth Edition of the Icy Manipulator says,
C, Tap: Tap target artifact, creature, or land.
This has me wondering, does the newer Tenth Edition card text retroactively apply to the Alpha card or does the Alpha text still apply when that card is in play? In other words, if I were to play the Alpha version, would I play by its rules, or the newer rules on the Tenth Edition card?