Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Puerto Rico, a player is required to ship as many of one good as they can in turn order.

If a player has a wharf, goods available to ship, and is otherwise unable to ship goods on the available ships, is that player required to use their wharf to ship all of one of their remaining goods? Or are they allowed to, say, hang on to their coffee to sell during a later trader phase?

share|improve this question
up vote 15 down vote accepted


Using the Wharf is optional, and a player is not required to use it each turn. Here are a couple quotes from the rules.

The Violet Buildings (page 9)

A player is not required to use the special function of an occupied violet building if he does not want to (important with the wharf, see below).

The Wharf (page 11 - emphasis, mine)

The wharf can only be used once per captain phase by its owner, but he may choose when to use it, if at all.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.