So in Arkham Horror, we're playing with the "Lurker on the Threshold" expansion. It introduces the idea of 'pacts'. When these pacts are received, cards from the 'reckoning' deck are resolved. We pulled a card in the middle of a game with the title "Prisoner's Dilemma":
The investigators must choose: either the investigator with the most Power is devoured, or the investigator with the least Power is driven insane.
Nowhere in the rules does it specify how that choice is arrived at. The pluralization of 'investigators' suggests that it is not up to the First Player, but how is this meant to be resolved? In our game, we deadlocked on the issue for a time, as there was fierce and spirited debate over the best course of action. We eventually settled it with a roll-off, but how should this be resolved? Specific citations of applicable rules would be highly appreciated, as various theories were bandied about throughout the remainder of the night to the vague dissatisfaction of all.