Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Ancient One named Ghatanothoa has a power called Annihilating Gaze.

While Ghatanothoa stirs in his slumber, place the eight visage tokens facedown on this sheet. Each time an investigator gains 2 or more Clue tokens at once, he must turn a visage token faceup. If it has Ghatanothoa's face on it, he is devoured. If not, leave the token faceup. Once four visage tokens are faceup, turn them facedown and shuffle the visage tokens.

Perhaps I'm being overly pedantic, but it isn't clear what happens if Ghatanothoa's face is turned up and there are not yet 4 visage tokens face up.

After the investigator is devoured, are all 8 tokens shuffled? Is the next pick "free"? I was unable to locate a clarification for this in the rulebook.

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

From page 9 of the Innsmouth Horror rulebook:

Remember, leave visage tokens faceup after revealing them unless either Ghatanothoa’s face is revealed or there are four visage tokens faceup after revealing the new token.

So while it doesn't explicitly tell you to turn them facedown and shuffle them, I'd say it's clear enough. So yes, no freebie clue harvesting after your poor friend gets devoured!

share|improve this answer
Thats what we did but the vagueness bothered us. – Pat Ludwig Feb 1 '12 at 21:40

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.