I just got Stone Age as a gift and I've played it one time so far. But I have a question about how the tools work.
They way we played from how I understood the rules:
A player places two people and decides to use 1 value-1 tool to gather wood in the forest. Thus the player rolls 3 dice (2 for people, one for tool). He rolls 3+4+5 = 12. Divides that by 3 and takes 4 wood.
This quickly resulted in not having enough dice to handle a single job. Considering you could place 5 people and use 8-value tools which means you'd need 13 dice.
I read online that other people play this way:
A player places two people on wood. Rolls two dice, gets 2+3=5. Then decides to use 1 value-1 tool to up his sum to 6 which lets him get 2 wood instead of 1.
Which way is correct?