Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We played our first games with the Abbey & Mayor expansion tonight, and ran across a scoring question that's not precisely covered by the rules. The rules are pretty simple:

  1. The Mayor counts as a meeple, so you can't play him where another meeple is already present.
  2. The Mayor counts as one follower for each pennant in the city.

What happens if a city with no pennants is closed (or the game ends) and the only meeple in the city is a Mayor? Does that player score zero points for the city?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

No points are scored.

From the Carcassonne Annotated Rules p58 (note 161)

Question: Blue has a mayor in a city with no pennants. Does the city count as occupied? And if so, when the city is scored, will blue score points? Answer: The city is occupied. The mayor has no ‘strength’, so he counts as if there is no follower, and scores no points.

share|improve this answer
    
Good, that's how we played it. –  Kristo Feb 15 '12 at 13:14

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.