Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

My opponent has three face-down morphs on the battlefield.

I play Sever the Bloodline targeting one of them.

Do we exile all three because they all have the "same name"? Or do we exile just one because "no name" indicates a lack of a characteristic altogether?

share|improve this question
@user1872 this is a common question for players, and it's not obvious unless you read the comprehensive rules, something that not even the Rules Manager recommed for most players (read the text about "What are the Comprehensive Rules?"). –  Pablo Feb 19 '12 at 18:52

1 Answer 1

up vote 12 down vote accepted

They don't have names:

702.35a Morph is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it’s on, and the morph effect works any time the card is face down. “Morph [cost]” means “You may cast this card as a 2/2 face-down creature, with no text, no name, no subtypes, no expansion symbol, and no mana cost by paying {3} rather than paying its mana cost.” (See rule 707, “Face-Down Spells and Permanents.”)

If they don't have names, they can't have the same name, so only the morph targeted by Sever the Bloodline will be exiled.

For an official source, see the fourth ruling in Maelstrom Pulse:

A face-down creature has no name, so it doesn't have the same name as anything else.

Bonus: Why "no mana cost" gives us a converted mana cost of 0 instead of no converted mana cost?: That's because there is a specific rule about this:

202.3a The converted mana cost of an object with no mana cost is 0.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.