Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If a moving gate (from the Lurker at the Threshold expansion) would move into a vortex in Dunwich, what happens? My best guess is that, since the rules say it moves as a normal monster, it moves into the vortex, and, like a monster, adds a horror token to the track.

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Moving gates cannot move onto Vortexes.

From a post on Fantasy Flight's forum:

Gates can't enter Vortexes. In this situation, the vortex is treated like an open gate, and gates can't move onto gates.

If a gate has to move into a vortex, it just stays in place instead.

I do not believe that the answerer, Tibs, is an official representative of Fantasy Flight. However, he has nearly 4000 posts in their Arkham Horror forums and seems to have a very good grasp upon the rules.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.