Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

My opponent has a werewolf transforming card in play, currently with the human side face up.

I have a sliver in my hand with sliver cycling. I cycle this sliver to find another in my deck. The one in my hand therefore goes into my graveyard. I end my turn after revealing my chosen sliver and placing it in my hand.

My opponent wants to transform his werewolf, claiming I cast no spells.

I payed mana, a card left my hand and entered my graveyard. Was that a spell?

share|improve this question
3  
To be strict, you didn't actually "draw" the sliver: it won't trigger any abilities that look for a draw. Unlike most forms of cycling, with slivercycling you don't draw a card, you choose a sliver from your library and put it in your hand. I know that's likely what you meant, but MtG terminology is important and I don't want readers to be confused. –  ghoppe Feb 27 '12 at 16:04
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 12 down vote accepted

No, Cycling is an activated ability that you can only use while the card is in your hand. Casting a spell requires that you pay a cards mana cost printed in the upper right of the card.

702.27a Cycling is an activated ability that functions only while the card with cycling is in a player’s hand. “Cycling [cost]” means “[Cost], Discard this card: Draw a card.”

202.1 A card's mana cost is indicated by the mana symbols at the top of the card. ...

202.1a The mana cost of an object represents what a player must spend from his or her mana pool to cast a card. ...

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.