Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Citadels, Ann has the crown and Bill chooses the king. The assassin kills the king. Who keeps the crown at the end of the turn?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

The King gets the crown when his character is revealed regardless of if he is alive at that point or not.

Otherwise the king would be exceptionally weak IMHO as whomever had the crown could just keep assassinating the king and keep the crown for a while AND not have to worry about getting killed themselves.

Oh, and I think you mean the assassin kills the king, not the thief. :D

share|improve this answer
1  
I am not sure it would be so bad >2p. Be King, take Assassin, kill King will get dominated by someone with free reign over Merchant. –  rrenaud Feb 29 '12 at 1:14
    
@RobRenaud True, maybe the still-crowned assassin would be wiser to pick a better target or choose a better character, but it still makes the King more of a last-pick as it doesn't even guarantee first pick later on. I do love it when I get to snag the architect and merchant while other players are busy fighting over the king, and making sure you get the crown regardless of assassination makes up for his otherwise lack of usefulness. –  Gordon Gustafson Feb 29 '12 at 1:31

The crown goes to the player that chose the King role card at the end of the round.

Fantasy Flight Rule book (page 14).

4) King

... If you are murdered, you skip your turn like any other character. Nevertheless, after the last player has played his turn, when it becomes known that you had the murdered King’s character card, you take the Crown (as the King’s heir).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.