Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The official two-player variant rules say that at the start of the game, you get two character cards, and you choose one to be your "exposed" character and one to be your "covered" character. You can only use the abilities of your exposed character, unless your covered character is specifically targeted by your opponent.

What is the point of the covered character if it's just always going to be in the background? Do the covered character and exposed character ever change during gameplay?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

I haven't played this game, but the rules seem fairly clear to me.

1) You can swap which character is covered, and which is exposed, each game turn. So they don't have to stay in the background.

At the beginning of any turn, after dealing with such cards as Jail and Dynamite and before Phase 1, the active player chooses one character to be exposed and the other to stay cover. In order to do this, push the exposed character towards the center.

2) You only get to use your exposed character's ability. The exception is when your covered character is targeted, in which case you get to make a response from them instead (poking their head out of cover).

During your turn, or your opponent’s turn, you can only use the ability of your exposed character. However, if your covered character is the target of a card (BANG!, Indians!, Duel, etc...) you temporarily get the ability of your character in cover (and lose the ability of your exposed one), for the short time needed to respond (see example below).

3) Your hand size is determined by the life remaining of your exposed character.

When you declare the end of your turn, you must discard from your hand any card exceeding the current life points of your exposed character.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.