Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What does a positive horror rating mean? For example, when a monster has -1 horror rating and my character's willpower is 7, it is reduced to 6. In the positive rating, when the monster has 1 for horror rating, should I add 1 to my willpower?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

Yes,

Horror tests are an attribute test, which are defined on page 13 of the rules, emphasis mine.

Occasionally, an investigator must make a modified attribute test. Such tests always list a positive or negative number after the attribute (for example: “Test Strength –1”). This number is always added to the investigator’s attribute before rolling the die. In this way, a skill test with a negative modifier is more likely to fail.

share|improve this answer
    
Which makes sense. I mean, a woman in rags is creepy, sure, but it shouldn't drive a hardened gangster INSANE. –  deworde Jul 27 '12 at 8:53

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.