Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm aware of this question about regeneration, which covers almost everything about it, but the focus of that question was on instants such as Shock or Doom Blade. My question is different and wasn't answered by that post.

If I block a 5/5 creature with two 4/4 creatures that both have a regeneration ability, but I only have enough mana to regenerate one of my creatures, can I regenerate after my opponent has assigned lethal damage to one of my creatures?

Does the creature immediately die from lethal damage since I can't predict where said damage will go (and therefore can't activate the shield beforehand), or can I still regenerate it?

share|improve this question
possible duplicate of How does regeneration work in Magic the Gathering? – ghoppe Mar 6 '12 at 20:54
See the accepted answer in that duplicate question where it states The only condition is that the regeneration has to happen before the destruction effect. Combat damage no longer uses the stack. – ghoppe Mar 6 '12 at 20:54
See also:… – ghoppe Mar 6 '12 at 20:57
@ghoppe see also the first sentence in my post. – Ender Mar 7 '12 at 8:15
up vote 8 down vote accepted

In the declare blockers step, the attacker must specify the order of the blocking creatures.

What that means, in the scope of your question, is that the owner of the 5/5 creature must declare which of your 4/4s he is going to deal damage to first. As such, you have a pretty good idea which creature you want to regenerate: the one the attacker put first into the firing line! Unless something else happens, that creature will take 4 damage and be regenerated, the other creature will take 1 damage, and both your blockers will survive.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.